National Ambient Air Monitoring Programme


Under the National Air Monitoring Programme (NAMP) there are four monitoring stations in Nagaland i.e. two stations at Dimapur and two stations at Kohima.

In Dimapur the two stations are located at Bank colony (317) & Dhobinala (448) and in Kohima it is located Opposite NST office (609) and Opposite War Cemetery (610).

Under this programme four air pollutants are monitored and analyzed viz., Nitrogen dioxide (NO2), Sulphur dioxide (SO2), Respirable Suspended Particulate Matter (RSPM) and Suspended Particulate Matter (SPM). The monitoring of pollutants is carried out for 24 hours (4 hourly sampling for gaseous pollutants (NO2 & SO2) and 8 hourly sampling for particulate matter (RSPM & SPM)) twice in a week.

The Nagaland Pollution Control Board regularly monitors ambient air quality of Dimapur and Kohima city throughout the year using manually operated Respirable Dust Samplers. The data generated in the NAMP stations are uploaded in the Environmental Data Bank of the Central Pollution Control Board.